How to awaken your spirit to live real NOW!

Who am I? I’m not alone in asking this age-old question. Speaking from experience, following the wrong path for the answer is like going down a rabbit trail of deception and dead ends. Even as Christians, culture’s propaganda subtly mesmerizes our minds to mesh with its beliefs, and we allow this in spite of having heard the truth. What is our hope, then, to awaken from this trance and begin living life as our real selves? Here are three actions I’ve embraced to discover who I am and to live real now.

STEP 1: Meet Your Maker

I know that sounds ominous, but that’s how society has warped what it means to know God; physical death is not a prerequisite. His plan has always been for us to be in relationship with Him NOW while on this earth – to know Him, have faith in Him, and to trust Him.

I didn’t encounter my Maker until I was 41 years old. Until then, I knew OF God, but did not KNOW God. My life felt empty and meaningless as I continually strove to meet human expectations. The beauty in this is that God placed in us a built-in desire to know Him, which drives us to continually search until we find the One who crafted meaning into our lives.

I had an obscured view of who He was due to life experiences, which I know is not unusual. But that’s the heartbreaking thing – it is not unusual for God’s children not to know Him.

“The ox knows its master, the donkey its owner’s manger, but Israel does not know, my people don’t understand” (Isaiah 1:3 NIV).

The ruler of this world is highly adept at monopolizing our attention with worldly distractions, and our life choices turn out uninformed. All it takes to reclaim our mind and rightful position is to make a holy choice to deny the world and choose God, the One who has eternally loved us. He will not force a decision. He waits patiently for us to make the move toward Him.

“So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come close to God, and God will come close to you. Wash your hands, you sinners; purify your heart, for your loyalty is divided between God and the world” (James 4:7-8 NLT).

As I took time to read His Word and connect with His heart, I began to assume my rightful place as the King’s daughter. As I pressed in, He revealed more of His character, and I began to perceive Him as my Father, Provider, Healer, Portion, Deliverer, Rock, Redeemer, Restorer, Righteousness, Sanctifier, Peace, and the list goes on and on.

In my searching, I discovered He is the Life. Real life.

STEP 2: Meet the Real You

As you read God’s Word for understanding of who He is, He will simultaneously reveal who you are. I have found Psalm 139 to speak most clearly of who God says I am:

  • Known by God (verse 1)
  • Seen by God (verse 2)
  • Understood by God (verse 3)
  • Heard by God (verse 4)
  • Protected by God (verse 5)
  • Overwhelmed by God (verse 6)
  • Surrounded by God (verse 7)
  • Inseparable from God (verse 8)
  • Guided by God (verse 9 & 10)
  • Never hidden from God (verse 11 & 12)
  • Uniquely created by God (verse 13 & 15)
  • In wonder of God (verse 14)
  • Planned by God (verse 16)
  • Thought of by God (verse 17)
  • Always with God (verse 18)
  • Sanctified by God (verse 23)
  • Lead by God (verse 24)

Adopting new beliefs can be slow, but I encourage you to keep trusting His Word and living within His grace. Every time you question who you are, it’s an opportunity to adjust your thinking, remember the truth and apply that to your current situation. Allow yourself time to absorb His wisdom as He reveals it.

“Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect” (Romans 12:2 NLT).

 STEP 3: Repeat Steps 1 & 2

“We can never know who or what we are till we know
at least something of what God is.”
– A W Tozer

Do you truly want to live a real life? A fulfilling life? The life you were designed to live? Then do these two things:

  1. Know God
  2. Know yourself

Where do you begin? Read His Word. And then continue to read His Word. This process of discovery will be captivating!

That’s it. That’s what you do. And your life will never be the same.

Life is too short to take for granted the moments God has given. It’s time for Christians to live real now, knowing Father God and finding our identity in Him.

If you are ready to live real now, I encourage you to do two things:

  1. Begin by reading and memorizing this verse that describes the Creator (God) and the created (you):

    “I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well”
    (Psalm 139:14 NIV).

  2. Next, leave a comment describing where you are in this real life journey or an encouragement for those who may be making the decision to live real now.

I pray you are inspired to take these steps…I’ve no doubt you will find that This is Living NOW!

Leave a comment