12 Authentic Ways to Be Known By Your Faith

Faith in Action
Be Known By Your Faith

In a world obsessed with appearances and good impressions, I’ve been known to sip the Kool-Aid and play the game a time or two. Maybe three. Or fifty-gazillion – but no more than that.

Recently I was thinking about what I would like to be known for. Or better yet, what God would have me be known for. Is it that I’m polished, savvy and have my act together? Yes, that’s it!

No, that’s not it. Because I’ve realized I’d rather be known for my faith – for things that add value to others, cause hearts to change and point to the One who gave me this life. Eternal things. Authentic things. Things that would reveal to those around me Who it is I’ve spent time with. Here’s a list of ways we will all be known by our faith.

  1. Smile, hug, and encourage. There are many ways to describe love, but these three are a great starting place. “Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples” (John 13:35 NLT).
  2. Say it’s OK. This one’s a biggie. Letting go of our right to defend ourselves and hold others responsible is tough. But forgiveness keeps our hearts open to love and offers a chance for us to experience freedom every time. “…and forgive us our sins as we forgive those who sin against us” (Luke 11:4).
  3. Speak the truth. No matter how challenging or difficult it may seem, honesty always shines brightly and fends off the creeping darkness. “An honest answer is like a kiss of friendship” (Proverbs 24:26).
  4. Place others above me. Humility opens the door for grace to flow and eliminates opposition from God that pride brings. “Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves” (Philippians 2:3).
  5. Give. Of our time, talent, finances. Generosity helps us see how truly blessed we are. “But generous people plan to do what is generous, and they stand firm in their generosity” (Isaiah 32:8).
  6. Be tolerant of others. Patience, they say, is a virtue. It’s also evidence of the Holy Spirit dwelling in us. “Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying” (Romans 12:12).
  7. Be thankful. We live in the richest, most blessed country in the world. Countless are the things we have to be grateful for. “Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus” (1 Thessalonians 5:18).
  8. Keep calm. In as much as we’re able, we can promote peace in relationships and circumstances. “Do all that you can to live in peace with everyone” (Romans 12:18).
  9. Have joy. Many things are beyond our control, but this is not. The joy of the Lord is available under any condition. “Yes, joyful are those who live like this! Joyful indeed are those whose God is the Lord” (Psalm 144:15).
  10. Be Available. When there is a need, we can choose to be willing to go, be and do. “Then I heard the Lord asking, ‘Whom should I send as a messenger to this people? Who will go for us?’ I said, ‘Here I am. Send me.’”(Isaiah 6:8).
  11. Be Honorable. Decent, fair, and ethical. Would that our actions glorify God. “We are careful to be honorable before the Lord, but we also want everyone else to see that we are honorable” (2 Corinthians 8:21).
  12. Be Daring. Can we be bold and courageous to do the thing others won’t? Yes, we can. “So be strong and courageous, all you who put your hope in the Lord!” (Psalm 31:24).

This list can be summarized by a quote by Oswald Chambers, author of My Utmost for His Highest:

“Have you ever realized that you can give things to God that are of value to Him? Or are you just sitting around daydreaming about the greatness of His redemption, while neglecting all the things you could be doing for Him? I’m not referring to works which could be regarded as divine and miraculous, but ordinary, simple human things – things which would be evidence to God that you are totally surrendered to Him.”

Evidence. That, I fear, may be missing. But God has placed a new desire in my heart to demonstrate the proof of His work in my life and to allow His light to channel through me. What on earth has greater value than this?

Will you join me? I pray you will. Let’s be mindful of one point each day. Be on the lookout for opportunities to put these into action. I have a feeling we are going to be overwhelmed and blessed by others’ responses – and I won’t be surprised at the change He will accomplish in our own hearts!

Please share your thoughts by leaving a comment before you go.

Blessings to you my friends!

Leave a comment